newbie here

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ted J

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey all.
Name is Ted. Been thinking of purchasing a bandmill, to mill my own wood for projects and such. (LOML thinks I might be crazy.)

We live north of Hempstead Texas on three wooded acres.
With all the choices and price ranges of bandmills, it might be a while before I choose one though.

found your site the other day looking for bandmills and thought I'de stop in to say HI.

Ted

hi and thanks for the welcome.

So far it looks like I'm leaning towards the Norwood. We'll see. I have plenty of time before I'll be able to use it anyway. Recently moved in Dec, from west Houston (Katy, TX), and still trying to play catch-up with all the honeydo's and work 60 hours a week at the money paying job.

right now it looks like I'll have three large Post Oaks that need to come down soon. I'll have to cut them, anchorseal them and stack'em up until I can mill them at a later date

Later

If you get a band mill plain on getting a lot lot more I thought I get one and said I’ll get a tractor later after I make some more money moving it around and sawing lumber well… I’m still trying to make money but did get and old tractor and now buying a woodmaster plainer and Lording willing I’ll build that Kin so we can sell some lumber after we pay for it to be stamp. I’m still happy with it thou because it has build a sawmill shed and is building another shed for are tools and some of the lumber we are using for are home. You probability already knows this so this is just a note to anyone that thinks they want to jump in. I think the best thing to do is to get a CSM and see what lumber you can sell first and then move up. Hey I probability look like a dumb jerk for even talking about this.