Oak ID

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HittinSteel

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I am new to tree identification for firewood purposes. I was shown by a friend a split of what he called oak that had very small "check" marks going the opposite direction of the grain. I am pretty sure that this is Oak myself. These small checks seem like an easy way to id. Do all oaks exhibit these checks and if so, are they the only tree types that do?

I think what you are describing are called 'rays'. Yes it is very common in Oak. I havent seen all species of Oak but all I have seen has had this.

Yep, rays are what I am describing. I've cut about 2 cord from a farmer's property. He told me it was a big elm. I think it is actually a red oak of some kind because of the rays and distinct smell when split. It has been down for quite some time and my moisture meter said it was ready for the stove. It seems to leave some really nice coals like oak also.

If you split two cords of it and still want to talk about it, it was Oak and not Elm.I'm suprised you still had the "sour Oak smell" if the wood was dry enough to burn.Usually takes at least a month, stacked, before it goes away.
The rays you described can be best seen on quartersawn Oak flooring or furniture, such as a Stickley piece.Always hurts a little bit putting a nice piece in the stove.

If you split two cords of it and still want to talk about it, it was Oak and not Elm.I'm suprised you still had the "sour Oak smell" if the wood was dry enough to burn.Usually takes at least a month, stacked, before it goes away.
The rays you described can be best seen on quartersawn Oak flooring or furniture, such as a Stickley piece.Always hurts a little bit putting a nice piece in the stove.