OWB design. More water? Less water?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
OWB Burning Efficiency

Hi Team , I have been burning for 10 years and have installed 8 of these wood boilers for friends. They mostly chose Central Boilers but one was a Tarm and a Shaver, and 2 were the new ECO one out from Central Boiler. Let me tell you this the new ECO boilers burn real clean once they are up to temperature but there are some big drawbacks. The wood needs to be split smaller and the heater needs to be fed every 8 hours or so. This new heater has a bypass when your sarting up so you dont choke the fire out. If he waits to long to load he needs to start with the small pieces of wood again. This ECO heater requires more cleaning,more loading,more wood splitting,and very careful wood placement to prevent damaging the smoke reburning chamber inside these units. My heater is a Central Boiler HF-60 and with a full load of beech I get a 4 day burn time in the average winter temperatures and a 3 week burn time in the summer just running the hot water through a 19 plate heat exchanger. I kinda like less work by using the traditional units. If I burn small loads 1/8 th full of dry wood the unit will smoke a very little for about 1 minute then burn clean as any of them. But this method requires way to much babysitting. So what are your thoughts ? O the Colorado fires have just put more smoke into the atmosphere then all the stoves in the US times 10 years. perspective

OWB design

How cute and clean and hot and stuff of a little fire it is means nothing to me.

How long a burn time and total wood consumed each burn cycle does.

My carbon footprint is likely smaller than average but you go ahead and lose

enuff sleep over it for both of us.

I do not lose any sleep over how efficent my boilers combustion chamber is because it is half