Poulan Pro 5020av + Mac3200 won't start help needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dfphoto

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Dear Readers, Hi visiting the east coast to help my friend. I am working on two chainsaws that are fairly old Poulan Pro 5020av and mcculloch mac3200. I have some knowledge of 2 strokes since i have a vintage yamaha rd250 but these tiny engines are a little strange.

One note: I did not fill either with oil so maybe that's a problem? The gas is new with 2stroke gas mixed to about 40-50-1

What I've done:

Poulan:
I replaced the gas, coil, spark-plug gapped to .28, the fuel bulb which was cracked, fuel line, removed the carb. sprayed it with clean but I didn't take it apart. I did remove the cover where the float would be but forgot what that's called.

Using starter fluid I can't get it to sound like it wants to start. I read about the gas cap not sealing and on the breather and I see some gas leaking a bit from the breather, and the cap is really hard to screw on rubber o-ring looks pretty good but I'm wondering about it being bad or cracked. The engine feels like it has a lot of compression but very limited tools here. I did a continuity test on the kill switch all seems ok. I also let it dry out completely for a full 24 hours in the sun. When I refilled the tank, I pushed the bulb 6x see fuel in the bulb, tried starting it about 10-20x I pulled the plug and I smell fuel but it is not overly wet.

Mac3200:
I replaced the fuel lines which which were broken, the oil line, plug, removed the carb cleaned it off, checked spark, this one sounded like it would start at first before I removed the carb and replaced the broken lines but after again zero on wanting to start, I pulled the plug and it was a bit wet but not soaking I've watched about 10-15 videos on this and I can't get to a place where I can figure it out.