Wood Add On and Liners

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newf_Caper

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I am considering getting a Wood Boiler add on to go with my Oil Furnace in the basement. I have a Masonry chimney with dual clay liners. One of them is being used for a stove in the living room and the other is venting the exhaust from the oil furnace in the basement. If I get a Wood add on put in in the basement next to the oil furnace could the two furnaces share the same liner?

I'm no expert on what local codes might require. We had a bare brick chimney,
with no liner of any kind. Wood furnace and gas furnace both vented into it.
About 5 years ago we replaced the gas furnace. When the guy installed it, had to run a seperate PVC outlet vent to the outside. By law, he couldn't vent it into the chimney.
Last spring we installed a Stainless Steel Liner in the brick chimney (8") to vent the wood furnace. That, you wouldn't have to do, but I'm almost sure your suppose to run them seperate.
Just my guess:)

Gregg,

Cool, So I could use a stainless steel liner for the wood add on and run a seperate PVC outlet vent to the outside for the Oil Furnace exhaust. Is your PVC exhaust vent to the outside low to the ground?

Cool, So I could use a stainless steel liner for the wood add on and run a seperate PVC outlet vent to the outside for the Oil Furnace exhaust. Is your PVC exhaust vent to the outside low to the ground?

On ours, it exits just above the foundation wall. These newer gas furnaces are more efficient than older ones also. I don't think you would have to use a SS chimney liner in yours. Yours allready has the clay liner, mine was old bare brick chimney, with no liner at all. Worried about brick and mortar deteriorating after all these years.