boom painting

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JOS 2012

Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first post ever!! So I am a new business owner we are now entering our second year. I purchased my first bucket truck yesterday and was wondering if i could paint the boom and can i use regular exterior paint??

:help:

When I worked for big orange they painted their booms once a year, before their truck inspections. Its was always regular spray paint, and those upper booms are frequently in contact with wires.

The problem with painting your boom is that could cover up a crack that could cause boom failer. If you are painting the whole truck, i would paint the metal parts of the boom only.

Really? Even the hydraulic fluid has to be changed. Paint is the same, oh well, I should be quiet or I will be called a bully.
Jeff

The loss of a life from not pointing out possible hazzards is a much heavier cross to bear than the label of internet bully will ever be.:msp_wink:

....Its was always regular spray paint...

"regular spray paint"...like the stuff in rattle cans. I seriously doubt that. I am sure they sprayed the paint, but I can't imagine any worthwhile company who is going to spray multiple trucks each year is going to use spray cans...very inefficient, costly and ugly.

Really? Even the hydraulic fluid has to be changed. Paint is the same, oh well, I should be quiet or I will be called a bully.
Jeff

I didnt say it was right or that i agree, its just what they do.

My Asplundh service manual recomended spar varnish for the booms.
Back in the early '70's

Hey guys, this is my first post ever!! So I am a new business owner we are now entering our second year. I purchased my first bucket truck yesterday and was wondering if i could paint the boom and can i use regular exterior paint??

:help: