is the stihl power pole saw worth????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericjeeper

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Is it all its hyped up to be for the 599 bones?
We need one for barnlot cleanup and around the fields.. But if someone else makes a similar unit would I be better off? Echo? ?"

Eric,
I have the HT131 Stihl and really like it. Is it worth the money? I guess it is up to you, I am sure it is overkill for my use but the 4-mix is very powerful and easy to start. As for competitive models, I have no experience with any of them so I can't say anything good or bad.

It all depends on hard you wanna work, If your using a hand pole saw for a lot of limbing you are a bad dude. Mine is the HT131 and it will cut anything you got, I even run a 14 inch bar on mine. It will not bog down even when it's buried. I have cut some big limbs with mine. I even took a dead blackjack oak tree down with it. [except the trunk] I really like mine, If you figure what it would cost for someone to come and trim all your trees you would come out cheaper with the saw. I know that's what i did when all my big oaks needed trimming. I did trim them as far as i could reach and their was some big limbs. Stihl makes a 45 degree adapter for it, I was gonna get one but they are 200 bucks.

I have the HT 101 and like it. I added the 30 degree adapter. I use the same 14 inch chain as on my 200T. The 131 was not out when I got mine. It won't buck logs, but it is good on branches.

Yes, worth it.
I have the 131. Paid $650. for it.
Bent pole will cost you $350. No I haven't bent mine. I just happened to ask when I purchased mine. Makes you be real careful with it. Dealer said most poles are actually bent while in the pick up truck, stuck out a window, or driven over.