Looking for input on Poulan Pro 455

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fisherman

Reaction score
Looking at upgrading my chainsaw. I am not a pro, but I do use my chainsaw quite a bit around the property.Have a small Echo arborist's saw with a 14” bar and although super reliable for the past 20 years, lately I have been getting frustrated with it's limitations. Need something bigger but not unmanageable. Yard cleanup used to be a few 12” limbs, but the past few years it has been more like 24” trees. I want a pro quality saw, ...well, because I'm a tool junky and hate using inferior tools, they always let me down. But, at the same time, for only occasional use I don't want to spend the dough on a new saw. So, have been looking at a few used pro models on FB etc. Was pretty much settled on a Stihl 026,and there are a bunch of them being offered in my locale. But today a Poulan Pro 455 popped up. I believe that both those saws are about the same vintage.... 1988/9, but I don't know much about the Poulan other than it's a bit larger, more powerful, and maybe more capable? I am hoping that some folks will chime in and help out a non-pro who just enjoys using nice equipment, and has a need for a used, 50-75 cc 18-22” bar chainsaw. Comments on the Poulan Pro 455 appreciated.

Quality? (compared to a Stihl 026 for example)

What is the parts support for the Poulan Pro 455? (I work on my own engines etc, so just need to know if parts are plentiful).

Any particular trouble areas specific to this model that I should look at when buying used?

Lastly, it appears that they started offering the 455 in 1988, but I couldn't find when it was discontinued. Is there a place on the saw to tell it's year of manufacture? Do they still make this model?

Thanks.