Need help with log splitter- Not splitting wood

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

finishsuper

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Recently picked up a homemade splitter on the cheap. Trying to save my 73 year old father from wasting his time and his back splitting his wood, and save myself some time as well.

Particulars: 5hp Honda motor, 2 stage Northern pump 1056, able to split 32" wood. There is no filter inline. No pressure gauges installed either. The motor starts fine and runs very well.

I am new to hydraulics and am having difficulty in troubleshooting and diagnosing. I don't have trouble with dismantling things and putting them back together (usually............).

Problem: When I first got it home and tried it out, the engine really worked to extend the cylinder with no load on it. When it encountered the wood, it stalled. You can see a vid of it here:

Log Splitter no load - YouTube (no load)

Log Splitter with Load - YouTube (with load)

Been trying to trouble shoot with some other sites and not getting a lot of information or help. One suggestion was to inspect the relief valve on the lever. I removed the jam nut and removed the "bolt" with an Allen wrench, and then the spring. I could not fish out the plunger, but it was free and not caught. I re-assembled and tried again, and had much better results, as seen here:

Updated Log Splitter.avi - YouTube

Currently, the cylinder moves freely back and forth, but when it contacts the wood, it sounds like it wants to try, but the wood wins.

Reading on this site today, I found out about the adjustment on the pump. I tried turning both clockwise and counterclockwise, but did not see any change (good or bad). I have not disassembled that apparatus to look for blockage or breakage yet.