shredding palm fronds

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wsm

Reaction score
Another newbie here, glad to have found this forum! I'm hoping that somebody out there has experience with shredding palm fronds??? I'm on a small island in the South of Thailand where our best resource material for composting and mulching is coconuts and coconut fronds. At present they're burned by 100% of the population and I've got loads of landscape plantings that need mulching and a desire to develop a composting business to produce potting mix to replace that which we have to have trucked/shipped in from Bangkok. I've used a small "home-owner" shredder (8 H.P.) but the blades just dull out in 15 minutes. I've been looking into Bandit/Morbark/Vermeer type shredders but they appear to be overkill! I'd be interested to hear of anyone else's experiences. Any advantage of drum vs. disc in this application? Thanks

HORAAAAAY! I finally got the reply window to open! Been trying to post for 45 minutes (between visiting other sites) and nothing was happening.:angry:

Anyway, on to the subject at hand: If you can find a chipper that will chip palm fronds without dulling quickly, and it's less than $30,000, you will be ahead of the game. Fronds are about impossible to chip well enough to make mulch, everyone I have ever known pays to dump palm chippings at the dump.
Dead fronds chip halfway decent. About the only way to recycle that stuff would be to stockpile the green fronds till they turn brown and crispy, then chip them.

The drum chippers tend to handle palms better than the disc. Crap wraps around the disc bearings and causes failure on disc chippers. I've heard that the new style drum with feeder wheels handles them better than the old style. Check out Morbark or Vermeer BC1000/BC1800 series.

Last edited: