New Saw Purchase?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

which one is the best buy.

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

anynamewilldo

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Well I'm sure this post has been beaten to death, but I was wondering what others thought. I live on 5 acrers and have used a Husky 137 for several years without a problem. Now I own over 100 acrers and have a feeling I'll be doing alot of more cutting. While the 137 does wonders I think its time I graduated to a bigger saw so what I was looking for is at least 18", a good price and performace, something that I can count on tough and bullet proof. I'm not brand loyal but if Husky meets my requirments and has the best price I'll buy again.

Seeing how I have to buy locally these are the ones that look like they meet what I'm after:
MS 290 STIHL FARM BOSS
Dolmar 5100
Red Max G621AVS
Husky 455 Rancher
Shindaiwa 488
Echo CS-400

Other options:
Efco 152 52cc
Tanaka 45cc

If you have a real genuine Dolmar dealer that has Dolmar saws and parts, I would proll'y go with the 5100s. Here in the PNW I would get a Stihl. The 290 will serve you well, but with 100 acres, a 361 would be better.

Last edited:
I'd stick with Stihl, Husky or Dolmar. If you have a good dealer then the 5100 is an excellent choice and it's sweet spot is 18".

With 100 acres maybe you could justify a professional saw. If so then the Stihl 361 would be a great fit.

I kinda like----

The Shindaiwa 488. But that's just me. If I were going to buy new, I might give the Shindaiwa 490 a try.

+3 on the 361. 100 ac is alot & a 361 would last many years. A long term investement in a pro saw ain't a bad choice.

RD

others