038 Mag and WHAT other saw...????

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

langkg

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
long time lurker - few posts but wanted to throw this one out to you regulars.

I have a 038 Mag that I bought brand new in 1986 or 1987. I've run the piss out of this saw over the years and LOVE it. I'm not a professional but the saw gets plenty of use. We typically burn 6-8 face cords a year and I cut wood for others. I rebuilt the carb on the saw several years ago and I've gone through some bars and so forth but she just keeps going and going and going. The saw is approaching 30 years old (it hurts my head to think about this!) and I'm afraid it will outlast me. In fact, I'm pretty sure I KNOW it will outlast me...lol I'm in good shape though and cutting wood is my exercise. The saw has a 20" bar and it's just a great saw but maybe not the lightest thing in the world after you throw it around for a few hours.