200T rebuild needed

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robpm

ArboristSite Lurker
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a Stihl 200T which I bought brand new in I think was 2004 s/n 162905336. It has been a great saw but I figured I messed up with my gas and did not mix the oil like normal. I have been running chain saws for over 40 years, I have an 044 that I purchased in 1997 and it is still running strong. So I froze the engine on the 200T. I am thinking that I could rebuild it. I am guessing I would need a new cylinder, piston rings, head etc. Is this worth doing? Where would I purchase the parts from, directly from Stihl or are there other avenues available? Any input would be greatly appreciated. As I said this has been a great saw for me and I am really sorry that I messed up in this way but these things do happen at times and I understand that. Thanks for your help.

I have a Stihl 200T which I bought brand new in I think was 2004 s/n 162905336. It has been a great saw but I figured I messed up with my gas and did not mix the oil like normal. I have been running chain saws for over 40 years, I have an 044 that I purchased in 1997 and it is still running strong. So I froze the engine on the 200T. I am thinking that I could rebuild it. I am guessing I would need a new cylinder, piston rings, head etc. Is this worth doing? Where would I purchase the parts from, directly from Stihl or are there other avenues available? Any input would be greatly appreciated. As I said this has been a great saw for me and I am really sorry that I messed up in this way but these things do happen at times and I understand that. Thanks for your help.