288xp New Guy questions

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BongoBob

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have a couple of "new guy" questions.

I just picked up a Husqvarna 288xp from a logger friend of mine. He just rebuilt it and it runs great...he gave me a good deal on it at $200.00, so I'm quite happy. I've cut lots of firewood over the years, but I'm no chainsaw expert...not even close! I know where the gas mix and chain oil go, I know how to properly set chain tension and remove chain, & bar. I know how to remove and clean air cleaner and spark plug, and how to adjust the idle...that's about it.

Here are my questions:

1. oil/fuel mix ratio...what works best in these saws.

2. I have no idea what year this saw is. How can I tell? Does it matter?

3. What would a good bar lenght be for most W.Coast firewood chores? It's got a 32" bar on it now, but that seem a bit longer than I need

4. Anything I should be aware of with this saw...common tips or problems?

Thanks for the help...I'll be reading through the forums here and gaining all the saw smarts I can.

Cheers,
BongoBob

Last edited:
Hi guys,

I have a couple of "new guy" questions.

I just picked up a Husqvarna 288xp from a logger friend of mine. He just rebuilt it and it runs great...he gave me a good deal on it at $200.00, so I'm quite happy. I've cut lots of firewood over the years, but I'm no chainsaw expert...not even close! I know where the gas mix and chain oil go, I know how to properly set chain tension and remove chain, & bar. I know how to remove and clean air cleaner and spark plug, and how to adjust the idle...that's about it.

Here are my questions:

1. oil/fuel mix ratio...what works best in these saws.

2. I have no idea what year this saw is. How can I tell? Does it matter?