372XP Xtorq tuning and RPM

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stantonizm

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
So I’m a noob to tuning chainsaws. I have a 372xp Xtorq that I bought for a big storm cleanup in 2012 or so. I haven’t run it a ton but it should at least be pretty well broken in by now. I decided to tune it and bought a DTI 20K tach, since I don’t really have the experience to do it by ear. With the factory tune it hit ~13.4k WOT with no load.

I read all of the threads I could find and there seemed to be some pretty varied opinions on where it should be at RPM wise. To start, I tuned it to idle at 2800 or so, and run at 13k WOT. I tried it out today in a 20” red oak log. It seemed a little slow and the engine would briefly sound different when it was really working. 4-stroking from being too rich maybe?

I hooked the tach back up to it while in the cut with the bar buried and was getting ~10k RPM. I leaned out the H screw to where it was running 13.3-13.4k no-load, which went to about 12.5k under full load. It seemed to cut really fast set like this, but now I’m afraid I might’ve gone too lean.

Any advice on where I should be? Am I good? Am I gonna blow it up?

So I’m a noob to tuning chainsaws. I have a 372xp Xtorq that I bought for a big storm cleanup in 2012 or so. I haven’t run it a ton but it should at least be pretty well broken in by now. I decided to tune it and bought a DTI 20K tach, since I don’t really have the experience to do it by ear. With the factory tune it hit ~13.4k WOT with no load.