5100 dolmar as your main saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

melly-mel

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
if you had to cut up a few cords of firewood, do some felling of 18 inch dia and less trees, and clean up, would this saw be enough? i was currently looking at the 6400, and the 361, but the more i read, and have been thinking about it i feel the 5100 may be the way to go. it is small enough for limbing if needed, and seems powerful enough for larger stuff. so if you were gonna have 1 saw to do what i described would this be enough? i don't wanna make the wrong choice and be disappointed. if not thats fine. i want honest opinions, and your experience and expertise is needed to help me make my decision. i am a carpenter, not a arborist, and appreciate any input here fellas.

A 18" is the max I would run on a 5100. It should pull it buried with a muffler mod. You may find that you need more power though......just a thought.

I would say shoot for a 60cc. Either 361/6400 would make a great all around saw. You can always use 2 bars, a 16" and 24" combo. Use the 16" for limbs and small stuff, then break out the 24" for felling and large bucking.:chainsaw:

if you had to cut up a few cords of firewood, do some felling of 18 inch dia and less trees, and clean up, would this saw be enough? i was currently looking at the 6400, and the 361, but the more i read, and have been thinking about it i feel the 5100 may be the way to go. it is small enough for limbing if needed, and seems powerful enough for larger stuff. so if you were gonna have 1 saw to do what i described would this be enough? i don't wanna make the wrong choice and be disappointed. if not thats fine. i want honest opinions, and your experience and expertise is needed to help me make my decision. i am a carpenter, not a arborist, and appreciate any input here fellas.