Almost ready to go

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Semi-Hex

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello All!
I am also new to milling, but have been working with logging for years. I help manage a Scout camp with a little over 600 acres of oak, redwood, madrone and fir. We have a logging company who comes in, grabs all the good wood and leaves a considerable amount of timber laying around for me to mill. This has an added benefit of reducing the fire hazards and ladder fuels.
I now have a timberjig, chainsaw and other equipment ready to start ripping up some lumber to use for Scout crafts. These will be birdhouses, feeders and simple projects that the youth build, then leave the camp, with a project, that was grown, milled, built and branded with the camps name.
I have been planning this for a couple of years and am starting this project out of pocket. Having some interesting oak, redwood and madrone I'll be cutting special pieces of crotch wood and burls to help defray some of these expenses.
I'm looking forward to having a great time working with this project.

Jim.

Welcome to AS, sounds like fun, if you can, post some pics of the start to finish process, we like pictures here.

That Really Sounds Great. If At All Possible It Would Be Great If You Held A Short Class Each Session Where The Scouts Could See How You Mill. Just Have Them Observe And Ask Questions. It Could Spawn A Whole New Generation Of Millers. I Know Every Kid Who Sees What I Do With What Looks Like A Piece Of Firewood Is Amazed. Good Luck And Have Fun>>tom