Axe/Saw/Maul Advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mopar969

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Okay so I know alot of people use chainsaws on this site. However, I would like to stay away from chainsaws because I have seen many people, even the experienced get injured from them. I have heard stories of the chain flying off and wrapping around people and other mishaps. I am new to using a chain saw and was going to order chaps and other safety equipment. However, I am planning on installing a coal/wood furnace and I was going to use the wood from my 7 acres as supplemental heat to the coal.

Anyhow my main point of posting to to see what people use besides a chainsaw to fell, buck, a tree. I have heard of saws, axes, and mauls. My goal is to only cut the dead and standing dead on my property. What out there is the best and how much longer to use them instead of a chainsaw. A

Again any advice for what I can manually use to fell and buck a tree. Also, I will be by myself so I can not use a two man saw.

What size trees?

If the same number of trees were cut with axes as chain saws, the number of injuries would likely be higher with axes.

Most chainsaw injuries are the result of improper use.