Bad Day

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Red Elm

Ridgerunner
Reaction score
I'm an independent forestry contractor. I work through another outfit on most jobs. We do alot of brush control/removal and timber stand improvement work. We use a Bobcat T770 w several different attachments to do alot of the work.

No, they don't have any idea at this point. The operator said he saw smoke outside the machine. Backed out of the brush maybe 20 ft, looked out the back glass and saw very small flames. He lowered the arms but door wouldnt open because grapple was in the way. He raised the arms up as high as they would go, popped the door open jumped out and apparently a hydraulic line burst as the arms came crashing down. He had fire extinguisher in his hand and used it but said it was too late for that. The hair on his right arm and side of face singed. Said he couldnt believe how fast that machine was engulfed in flames. The machine was about 9 months old. Thank goodness no one hurt.

sorry for the loss. know its easy for me to say at least no one was hurt. but thats the fact. really hope your insurance will help you recoup your loss. good luck and god bless.

Thanks jwade. It was owned by the outfit I am sub contracted to. He has insurance, now just have to find another one to replace it with.

I get a couple customers each year with engine compartment fires. Usually they are using a mulcher attachment. The wood chips make their way into the engine compartment and pile up on the exhaust.