bench grinder

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juliano

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
i am forever sharpening chains and i wont do it during the work day, i keep 6 or 7 chains for each saw and just swap them as they get dull. sharpening the chains properly takes much time,is tedious and boring. im looking at a catalogue that offers a oregon bench grinder or a mini grinder, can anyone tell me if this is a good way to go?

Can't go wrong with a bench grinder, I am new to that method, very new, I have to say that it makes one hell of a difference. I still hand file after each fill up of fuel and oil, but it is good to know that I don't have to pay to have them brought back after many hand filings. Here is the one that I bought at Tractor Supply, time will tell how well it holds up. So far so good.
chainsharpener022.jpg

I bought the timber tough which is bigger than the one in the picture above for 130.00. It is better than any other grinder I've owned. I bought the 350.00 speedstar I think it was from bailey's and this timber tuff is by far better. The wheels are fairly cheap also.:cheers:

I bought the timber tough which is bigger than the one in the picture above for 130.00. It is better than any other grinder I've owned. I bought the 350.00 speedstar I think it was from bailey's and this timber tuff is by far better. The wheels are fairly cheap also.:cheers:
Why do you like the timber tuff better ? Not disagreeing, just wondering. I've got the Jolly Star and it does a good job, just got to be gentle with the vise.

I just googled the timber tuff, looks to be the chinese knock-off of the 511a, same as Northern Tool except for the paint color.

OP