Big Bore kits

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eagle 1

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Thanks for letting me join the site, this is my first post and I have a chainsaw question. First I’ll introduce myself. I am not arborist by no means, I am retired military and a mechanic by trade.
I have an old Stihl 029 Super chainsaw that I purchased approximately 21 years ago that I use from time to time on my property cutting firewood, clearing trees etc. The saw has finally played out on me and as I suspected the piston and bore is shot. I took it to a local shop and had it looked at and they verified what I already knew. I decided I wanted to save the saw and rebuild the engine. My questions are about getting a quality big bore cylinder kit. First of all can someone recommend a quality bore kit? I found this place online and I called and talked with them.
http://www.lilredbarn.net/product-p/sbshms310-47mm.htm
Has anyone ever dealt with them?
I believe he said that these kits come from South America and that they assembled them at their shop.
Again I’m looking for quality and open for suggestions. Thanks

Hi and welcome!

Firstly, you may very well be able to save your cylinder once you’ve removed the transfer. If possible then do so as it will be far superior to the Chinese parts of your link.

To that you can just add a meteor piston, caber rings, an OEM small end bearing and a new set of crank shaft bearings from your local bearing supplier. Stihl seems to use FAG’s on their older equipment, but any of the good brands, nsk’s, skf, koyo etc are just as suitable from a bearing supplier for 3x less than Stihl.

As a mechanic you clearly know your stuff, a little 2 stroke will be a walk in the park. Though , 029’s and 039’s are rather convoluted and aren’t very conducive to working on. None the less it’s not difficult.