Chips plugging up my bar

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
When cutting soft wood with 404 full skip chain 68 Jx my bar plugs up with wood chips and my chain stops. Would it help to run my chain super tight. All new equipment. 44 inch and 32 inch bar on ported 3120 xp saw. Soft maple cottonwood and rotten oak. Works great on hard wood.

Sent from my SCH-R950 using Tapatalk 2

I have had the same problem in the past. It was less of a problem when everything was worn in but I think I was the biggest problem trying to crowd the saw too much in the soft wood. If I just let the saw self feed and don't get in a hurry no more problem. I rarely cut anything that big so I am no expert just passing on my experience.

When cutting soft wood with 404 full skip chain 68 Jx my bar plugs up with wood chips and my chain stops. Would it help to run my chain super tight. All new equipment. 44 inch and 32 inch bar on ported 3120 xp saw. Soft maple cottonwood and rotten oak. Works great on hard wood.

Sent from my SCH-R950 using Tapatalk 2

Is this mostly when stumping Doug??

Running the chain real tight is not a good idea for many reasons.

Last edited:
I've had this happen to me before, I just keep my eye on my chain and if I see the bar load up with chips I'll hit the throttle a few times (out of the wood) until it clears it self out.