classes

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmack

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
where are rec climbers learning in different parts of the country , i taught rec climbing in nyc but i never realized how big it was, anyway just curious j

I Am New To Tree Climbing. I Live In Pfafftown Nc Which Is Outside Of Winston-salem. My Instructor Is Bob Wray Of Blueridgetreeclimbing.com. He Is Located On The Blue Ridge Parkway In Meadows Of Dan Va. His System Is Not Gear Intensive So I Was Able To Purchase All Of The Gear For Around $700. He Has A Long History Of Cave Diving So He Is Very Focused On Safety And Teaches How To Get Out Of The Worst Case Scenario. He Offers A 3 Day Class That Is Usually 1 On 1. I Would Recommend Checking Out His Website.

jmack said:
where are rec climbers learning in different parts of the country , i taught rec climbing in nyc but i never realized how big it was, anyway just curious j

Georgia and the southeast and the Pacific northwest are the U.S. epicenters for rec tree climbing instruction. But instructors are starting to break out all over including Colorado, Michigan, Mississippi, Illinois/Ohio, California, Virginia (Bob Wray) and Massachusetts to name a few.

jmack did you teach rec climbing at the NYBG?

obviously you are talking about instructional classes so this is a little off topic, but has anyone read or heard about the difficulty classfications given to rec-trees? its an interesting concept (largely based on the system used to classify rock climbing routes) that involves assigning trees numbers like 5.3 or 2.1 to indicate levels of technical and physical difficulty

yes

moss said: