complainers... add your stories

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I like doing firewood. You have too to do so much work for basically low wages. Which make listening to complainers some what comical. I have to look at it that way as dealing with people can be really great, lots of good folks out there, or... there are the few who make a hobby of complaining.
I have been seasoning oak for two years (24 months) cut, split, stacked, but not covered and little sun. It is nice firewood.
It's 40 degrees out and I get a call. The wood you sold me will not start well. Takes forever.
Okay. I'll be right over with your money and pick it up.
No, no, that's okay. I'll just deal with it.
So I stop by this guys place.
Nice house, well sealed, lots of glass, lots. Two walls of the living room are pretty much all glass and a fireplace.
So my thought is cold chimney, tight house, poor draw.
He has a pile of splits next to the stove and some kindling. Three or four logs starting to coal and going nicely in the fireplace.
All the wood is good size oak, no little stuff, and the kindling is 3/4" x 3/4" lumber rips. He is saying it took him all most an hour to get a fire going because the wood is wet. The kindling burns up but the wood won't take. He has been doing this for forty years and it never took him so long!
I could hear a faint sizzling, but no moisture bubbling out the ends.
I guess he expects to cook hamburgers on a charcoal grill three minute after lighting it. And if he couldn't it would be because... the charcoal must be wet. It is a push button world.
I left him with some home made fire starters made from cardboard egg cartons, dryer lint, and melted candle stubs melted down. Then break them apart into twelve starters. Now even he can start a fire... without kindling. And oh, it was an eight mile trip each way for this clown.