Critique My First Attempt at Porting Please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cedarshark

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I am 65 and have read with interest the many threads of people's great reviews of ported saws. As I age, the more I wish better performance from a 50cc saw to make it easier with less weight. The Husky 350 platform seems to be a very good choice. I dug around in the junk pile and came up with a 44mm cylinder that has scoring (that wont come off) above the exhaust port. As I have no experience with porting, I thought it was a likely candidate for a practice first attempt. Many thanks to Brad Snelling, Mattyo and others who graciously contributed to the threads that got me off to a semi-educated start on the basics. As many have stated, its something you have to just get in there and "do" and learn from my mistakes.

Please take a look and let me know your honest thoughts. I did not raise/lower the ports. My intent is not to mess with timing the first try,only let it breath better and increase the compression, probably with a base gasket delete and dump the dished piston. If this attempt (on a trashed cylinder) is "ok", I will try it again on a 45mm 350 that runs well now.

I sincerely appreciate your comments....good and bad :dumb:

Apologies for duplicate images ...not sure what I did.

My observations:

1) I did not do a good job squaring the edges of the ports. I found this very hard w/ a ball burr.

2) Do you guys port from the outside of the cylinder or do you have to do some from the inside ?

3) I have not beveled the edges of the ports and dont see how I can get to the edges to put a nice bevel(45*) with the Foredom grinder or Dremel. Is it done with a file or something else?

IMG_1104.JPG IMG_1104.JPG IMG_1104.JPG IMG_1104.JPG IMG_1105.JPG IMG_1105.JPG IMG_1106.JPG IMG_1106.JPG IMG_1107.JPG IMG_1107.JPG