Falling slight leaner with a plain old bottle jack?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mountainman

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Greetings.

Although I am not a novice at falling, this is the first time in my 65 years down here that I am faced with having to fall two good-sized trees, one poplar and one sweet gum, both a good 36" or more at the butt. Looking for a cost-effective, feasible insurance policy to assure that they will fall where I want 'em to fall. And I can't afford a Silvey. Would a hydraulic bottle jack work SAFELY in a pinch? If so, would you recommend about a 4X4 inch piece of flat steel being placed between the tree and the jack to avoid the jack penetrating the tree itself as the jack does its job?

Thanks.

Greetings.

Although I am not a novice at falling, this is the first time in my 65 years down here that I am faced with having to fall two good-sized trees, one poplar and one sweet gum, both a good 36" or more at the butt. Looking for a cost-effective, feasible insurance policy to assure that they will fall where I want 'em to fall. And I can't afford a Silvey. Would a hydraulic bottle jack work SAFELY in a pinch? If so, would you recommend about a 4X4 inch piece of flat steel being placed between the tree and the jack to avoid the jack penetrating the tree itself as the jack does its job?

Thanks.
How much lean are we talking about and what will they hit if they go the opposite way you want them to?

How much lean are we talking about and what will they hit if they go the opposite way you want them to?
Lean is minimal, and I might be able to wedge them over. Emphasis on the word 'might'. Damage from falling the wrong way would also be minimal.

Greetings.

Thanks.
Maybe some pics would help, try to show what could be hit if thing go wrong.

That should work depending on the lean. Where in NC are you?
Greetings.

Thanks.