Help me add to my toolbox

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kstrayhorn

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, new here.

I am currently a student of Biology hoping to pursue further education and eventually a career in natural resource management or forestry. I cut wood in my free time, primarily dead/dying standing timber, downed trees, and controlling invasive species. As such, I frequently skid sections of trees to buck them, move and stack logs that are to be milled, and I like to employ safety nets when felling. For these uses, my current toolbox includes several 3/8" choker slings, a hand winch, snatch block, wedges, various shackles, and a 20 ton bottle jack should I ever be that desperate. I am looking for features to add to this kit. However, cost and versatility are the two major factors as I have plenty of other needs for this equipment. I am primarily looking for something I can use to tension trees while cutting to aid in felling and to protect against sudden wind shifts, etc., but also to help fall slight leaners. I don't like ropes due to price, durability, and lack of durability, so I'm looking at wire rope and recovery straps, more specifically, these options:
A) 3/8" x 65' winch cable (12k lb) from Harbor Freight ($28, but I would also have to have an eye put in). For general pulling, skidding, etc. and would also work with my snatch block.
B) 2x 1/4" x 50' wire rope from Harbor Freight ($31 for two, but I would need a total of 4 eyes put in). Obviously decreased capacity, but would be for fixing high in trees to counter lean and influence direction. Less versatile, but would work with my snatch block.
C) 3.5" x 30' recovery strap (35k lb) @ $37. Shorter length and can't use directly with snatch block, but strong and versatile.