Finally bought my BIG saw--needs repairs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gee_dubya75

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Ok first off, I have been a member of this site for just over a year and bought my first saw shortly after that and because of you guys I have just purchased my 7th saw and I don't even burn wood--I just love to cut wood!!

Here's the saws I own and the order in which they were purchased:
Stihl MS-361
Makita 6401
Husqvarna 445
Stihl 025
Echo CS-440
Poulan Wildthing

(The last three saws were purchased not out of necessity but because I got them cheap)

As you can see I have the limbing and medium felling/bucking ground covered but I was really wanting a monster to pull a big bar. I thought about taking the 6401 and dropping in the 79cc or big bore kit but I've never done anything like that before and was a little uncomfortable tearing into it. I've been looking for a while for the right saw to come along and on my way home from Thanksgiving in KY I found a used Dolmar PS-9010 w/ 32" bar.

I knew that it had a broken chain brake handle and I've fixed that but I didn't realize that one of the bar studs was stripped out. I'm trying to decide how to fix it. From what I've read on this site Time-sert is the best way to repair the threads. I just don't know if I want to spend $60 on one bar stud.

Helicoil sounds like the next best option but it sounds like it won't last. Do they just become loose and you have to re-apply loctite or do you have to re-drill and tap the next biggest size?

The last option is JB weld although I couldn't find any info on this site where it was used to repair a bar stud.

So what should I do? Bite the bullet and spend the $60 and put in a Time-sert?

Anyone want to rent me their Time-sert and sell me one insert? :D

I'll post some pictures and maybe a video once I get it fixed and cleaned up.