Finicky chain adjuster

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clearance

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
To start with, I ain't no newbie, I have been running saws for over 20 years. My problem is the chain adjustment on Stihls, specifically the 020, 200T.

I know how tight the chain is supposed to be, here is the problem, when I adjust the chain to where I want it, when I tighten the bar nut, it gets tighter. I always have the bar tip on something as I do this (like with every other saw). I never have this problem with the Huskies I run or have used, and thats many.

So, I have to guess at where I think the chain will end up. Very annoying, no bash at Stihl, it ain't the end of the world, they are great little saws, but what is going on and how do I resolve it?

Thanks/Jim

Last edited:
Loosen the bar nuts, tension it till the chain can be pulled off the middle of the bottom of the bar and it snaps back up to the bar.

Hold the tip of the bar up, and crank down both nuts tight.

If the motor isnt moving in the frame, and the nuts are tight, the tension shouldnt change.

Id replace the clutch/spur, and chain, and give the bar a good dressing and cleaning.

These saws are like this from new, every one I have ever used. When you are at work with lots of guys who have them you will see chains hanging way loose, tighter than a nuns, and in between. Red, I tried what you said, there is only one bar nut on these saws, ended up too tight. Trial and error, I guess. Lake, these saws get used hard, they take a real beating and keep on going. The bars are cheap, I have to admit to running them for a long time with the chain loose. I file bars quite often, I never let them burr or chip.