First Post - Advice on climbing and positioning please

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Botanical

Reaction score
View attachment 187324

Hi there,

This is my first post but I have been reading your forum for a while now to get advice and reviews of equipment and I have found you all to be a very good source of knowledge. Thankyou for that.

So my first question involves climbing. I need to take down the Willow which should be pictured above. but I am not sure how to rig myself into the tree.

A little background on myself at this point so you know where I'm at. I have been working in woodland management / forestry since 1993 in the UK. I had a brief spell in Finland in 95 and then went to university to study Forest Management at degree level. Never did quite take to the whole government approach to forestry and did not suit the whole tie wearing civil servant vibe. So left and taught unemployed kids about land maintenance. Got bored and started a landscaping business where I mostly build ugly patios, but on occasion I get to work with trees and chainsaws, my kind of work. I have been using saws for 20 years or more, I have also been rock climbing for a few years on and off and enjoy both. So I am familiar with both but not both together.

Back to my question: