First Post

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gene DiNardo

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Greetings and Salutations !
Thank you ALL for the Knowledge and experience represented on this forum.
I am a woodworker and occasional miller.
I started out with a homemade attachment for an electric chainsaw. After burning out 3 I upgraded to an 18" gasser. I picked up a "Haddon Lumbermaker" and was living large! I used that rig for 6 or 7 years. Of course I was severely limited in what I could handle, sometimes having to make 3 or 4 cuts before I could start making planks. I didnt mind the work and only had a 13" planner so I was OK.
Then... I found you guys... started reading posts by "Woodshop" "Aggie" "Railomatic" et al... Well I had to get a 20" planner
395XP 36" Alaskan and now lookin for some REAL LOGS !
All the milling I have done was with regular chain, I just filed for rip.
My 395 came with 36" square chisel full comp 3/8" .063. Will this be OK for Milling or will there be a marked difference with say "woodsman Pro Rip chain ?

Oh since I know you guys like pics I included a couple.

Welcome, Gene.

It looks like you're coming along quite nicely! I wish I would come across some walnut like that. Just not to common here.

You would be better served with a ripping chain. Chisel chain will get the job done but it tends to dull more quickly and leave a rougher surface. You don't necessarily need to buy a chain sold as ripping chain as any full comp micro-chisel or chipper chain with out bumper links will do. Just file the top plate angle back to between 0 and 10 degrees a little at a time (or all at once should you choose to) and you're set. However, Bailey's (Woodsman Pro) ripping chain is good chain and a great value. It also has the advantage of longer service life because you start with greater tooth length.

Enjoy!:cheers:

Oh- and we do like pics!!:D