Gasket remover

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hotshot

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
My pet peeve is scraping the old case & jug gasket off the soft magnesium edges
without damaging it. I'm not too good with a razor blade as I get nicks in the case.

Has anybody had good success with the commercial gasket removers, spray or liquid?

Last edited:
My pet peeve is scraping the old case & jug gasket off the soft magnesium edges
without damaging it. I'm not to good with a razor blade as I get nicks in the case.

Has anybody had good success with the commercial gasket removers, spray or liquid?

Yup gasket remover works.I cant remember which one it is.

3m made some plastic gasket remover wheels that you can put in a drill. The plastic is soft enough that they wont hurt the metal. they work pretty good.

hot shot im at the same point as you let me know if you have any sucess and what you have used

I have also had good luck softening them up with acetone.

I have found that a scotchbrite pad and some acetone along with a little elbow grease works quite well.

3m made some plastic gasket remover wheels that you can put in a drill. The plastic is soft enough that they wont hurt the metal. they work pretty good.

Be careful with what you use. The guy behind the counter at the auto parts store I go to told me when they started carrying Scotchbrite pads for drills they wound up resurfacing lots of heads because customers used them to clean gaskets and made the sealing surfaces of the heads no longer flat. Make sure the wheels you use are for gasket removal.

personally i use a blunt chisel and a framing hammer. and for the really tough stuck on crap, i pull out the big guns! pneumatic chisel:rock:

but seriously, purple power soak, and a razor blade