Generator question

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ok, I have never worked on one before, but I got one for $30 last night that needs work.
It is missing the capacitor.
I have an old 110V compressor that has a capacitor on it and am curious if I can use it.
Might be a dumb question, but honestly I don't know the difference in them.
If the microfarad rating is the same, should work. There should be a MF rating on the outside of each capacitor.

Without knowing what was there, I couldn't even guess if what you have will work. I don't know much about generators.

The important number on that cap is the 12(glare)uf. What's that third digit? 120-129uf likely won't make any difference as it's very close to being within the 5% tolerance anyway.

You might be able to use the generator model number to find an IPL with the info, or Google pictures and find a photo of the cap that someone else has taken.

Or toss it in and see if it works. Might just excite the coils, and beyond that make no difference.

Without knowing what was there, I couldn't even guess if what you have will work. I don't know much about generators.

The important number on that cap is the 12(glare)uf. What's that third digit? 120-129uf likely won't make any difference as it's very close to being within the 5% tolerance anyway.

You might be able to use the generator model number to find an IPL with the info, or Google pictures and find a photo of the cap that someone else has taken.

Or toss it in and see if it works. Might just excite the coils, and beyond that make no difference.
I'm guessing it a brushless powerhead, needs the proper cap to be safe and not damage sensitive electronics. The IPL should have that cap listed as OM617YOTA suggested.

Attachments

• Sincro EP272L, EP295L Use And Maintenance Manual.pdf
    289.7 KB · Views: 1
I did not read all of this BUT