Getting a used pro saw: need some help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Balog

Reaction score
I'll start by admitting that I'm a newb to chainsaws. Ironically, I moved to WA state to drive a log truck after I got my CDL, but that job didn't work out and I never entered the industry. I have friends who work for arborists, and I had a room mate who worked for a small independent logging company but I've never really done much cutting myself aside from very light chopping up small down trees for firewood.

However, I'm finally ready to step up and get a saw of my own, and start cutting. Just had a baby daughter and my wife quit her job to raise her, so we're looking for ways to economize. One of the bigger ones is getting the (thoroughly trashed) fireplace insert in our house up and running so we can start heating with wood. I'm thinking of putting in a stove in the garage and ducting it into the house as well. Who knows, if I can get my friend's in the industry to hook me up with enough opportunities to harvest trees to save them getting rid of them I could even sell a few cords a years to cover the cost of all that. What can I say, I'm an unrepentant capitalist. :biggrin:

I've just started researching, but I'm already leaning towards a used pro model saw. I grew up helping my dad work around the farm and we always had the cheapest crappiest tools he could find. Ever since then, I loathe trying to use poor quality tools; you always end up fighting the tool instead of doing the job. However, I don't exactly have a ton of money to throw around so... that leaves used older pro models off of Craig's List.