Glow Plugs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jimma

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Another stupid question, sorry. I'm new to the diesel world and got a problem with the glow plugs. What would cause the following problem? Sometimes, I depress the prewarmer before starting and it starts right up and I release the prewarmer and it runs fine. But then it stalls suddenly, even after running for some time and is obviously running warm. But if I depress the prewarmer it will start immediately but stall as soon as I let up on the prewarmer,. I may have to depress it for several minutes to keep it running. (runs fine if I do that) but stalls when I let up, then it seems to correct itself and runs fine when I let up on the prewarm button. Sometimes takes 4 or 5 minutes, other times 30 or 40 seconds. Any thoughts on whats going on? My other diesel burns very dirty when the pre warmer is depressed and clears up after I release it, but this one seems to run perfectly clean with the buttom depressed.