Granberg Small log mill

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lapointe

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to the milling forum and am in need of some advice. I'm going to be building a timber frame house in the future for myself and would like a mill to start on some posts (8x8, 10x10, etc.) and boards. I was looking at the Granberg small log mill for my MS 460 with a 20" bar. I figure for $140 bucks it's worth a shot. My neighbor has a Peterson ATS and is willing to mill me posts, boards, etc. but will charge me. Is it worth tackling it solo with the Alaskan style mill or have him mill the beams for me for cost. Also, has anyone used a 460 for milling? How does it hold up? I can't justify buying a 660, or another larger saw just for milling. Eventually I'd like to get a swing blade or band saw mill, but I can't afford one now.

Hi there, I'm new to the milling forum and am in need of some advice. I'm going to be building a timber frame house in the future for myself and would like a mill to start on some posts (8x8, 10x10, etc.) and boards. I was looking at the Granberg small log mill for my MS 460 with a 20" bar. I figure for $140 bucks it's worth a shot. My neighbor has a Peterson ATS and is willing to mill me posts, boards, etc. but will charge me. Is it worth tackling it solo with the Alaskan style mill or have him mill the beams for me for cost. Also, has anyone used a 460 for milling? How does it hold up? I can't justify buying a 660, or another larger saw just for milling. Eventually I'd like to get a swing blade or band saw mill, but I can't afford one now.