Greetings From Campbell River, BC.......Newbie Here

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Just found this site recently and had a few short looks......enough to get me to register and say hello.
I worked in the forest industry here in BC starting in 1967 and ending in 2000, more or less, and saw a few different things and met a few old guys along the way too. I grew up on property that was logged by oxen around the turn of the century (1900) and remember the remnant old trails left behind by those loggers. As well, my Grandfather worked at Fraser Mills for many years and was a well known character back in the '40's and '50's around that area.
I started in Gold River in the pulp mill built there mid '60's by Tahsis Co Ltd. as a warehouseman in Mill Stores. Within a year I was Assistant Receiver-Shipper and then Receiver-Shipper, the highest hourly job in Mill Stores. In 1969 I took over the warehouse at the Gold River Logging Division as the Warehouseman/Buyer and spent the next four years running it.
From there I went to the Charlottes for MacMillan Bloedel, then to Port Renfrew for BCFP Ltd. and later to the Charlottes again for Husby Forest Products. That evolved into opening a one man store in Sandspit selling heavy duty truck parts for Island Mack Truck Sales out of Nanaimo for 3 1/2 years whereupon we shut that store down and I moved here to Campbell River and worked as the road salesman covering Vancouver Island north and west from here. When that ended I worked for Lemare Lake Logging running the Kilpala warehouse for a short period before leaving and taking up what I do now.
Got in on the beginning of grapple yarding here in BC and the first ever Skagit SST Grapple Yarder, serial #1001, belonged to the Gold River Logging Div.