Help me pick a new saw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cgarman

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I've been running a Poulan Pro 295 for a few years now, and today it took every ounce of self respect I had not to give it a hook shot down to the rock pile. I brought my used 076AV back from the grave, so I think my diagnostic and maintenance skills are at least typical. I swear, this saw mocks me. I can hear it laugh. I'll post the problems I have with it in another thread, but suffice it to say that I'm in the market for a more reliable piece of equipment.

I also own (as said above) a Stihl 076AV that I bought used and repaired. I use it on my mill, but also came across a 36" bar for it at a yardsale for $5. Once I get a chain, I should have a beast for cutting up large trees.

I'm trying to decide the best saw to replace my 42cc Poulan. One thing is for certain - it has to be a Stihl. I already own enough tools and parts to make this decision easy.

I own 6 acres, all wooded and very hilly. 8-12" trees fall and limbs drop faster than I can burn the wood.

I also have a large (15 feet high) pile of trees, rocks, and dirt that is left over from when the house was built. I'm trying to cut these up to burn (outside - lots of rotten logs and stumps) and get them out of my way. In the mix are several large 24-30" poplars, and maybe close to a hundred smaller trees. Footing is slippery climbing over the pile, so I need something that I can use on awkward footing.

I hesitate to say that money is no object, but honestly my first priority is getting a saw that I know is going to be easy to start and run all day when I need it to. $300-500 is no problem. I could step up to $700 if needed, and have considered the $1000 mark, but someone may need to push me over the edge there :)

I'm thinking of three different directions here: