homemade wedges

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whitedogone

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
I'm hard on wedges and getting tired of buying them. Anyone ever cut their own? I have a large bandsaw to make short work of it and lots of hedge on the farm. WDO

Steel... never breaks
Steel_Wedges_4.jpg

Over the years this topic has come up several times. Some threads have shown handmade hardwood wedges that many would consider art. I "think" you need to look at 'hard-to-split' as well as just 'hard' when selecting wood species for wedges. Elm or sycamore comes to mind, but I'm no expert. Many times folks just make them out of whatever's handy, and consider them expendable.

I've got more chain than I can use so if by some slim chance I hit the metal wedge I can just sharpen later at the shop.

Killing 1/4 of a chains life is still cheaper than eating a $10 wedge. Plus your out the wedge you needed. If you kill the chain you can always swap out to a second chain.

Just my view on it. I've seen guys use large aluminum wedges too. kind of an inbetween plastic and steel option...

The thing about handmade hardwood wedges is that you can make them custom. Single taper, dbl taper, width, length, shape, pitch, all under your control. Could really expand the hobby.

Dogwood (sadly) or persimmon, probably. I don't know what would be wrong with Elm. Sycamore might be a little soft, but should work.

So is there a general consensus on best species of wood to use?
lol....yes! but its not in your geographic location.
I'll rip them custom for you; minimal order 500:chop:
seriously man rip them out of tight gained sapwood of the tree and I'm sure they will work great. try a few different kinds
as to the ones you feel should work well.A healthy heartwood my be the hardest but not the strongest (think that concept was somewhat mentioned already)