how to get longer burn times?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hangnail

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I have a jotul f 400 and it is supposed to have 8 plus hour burn time. right now i can maintain a stove temp of about 400-500 with a 45-60 minute burn time. draft is right about in the middle. i have found that if i close the draft any more than that, i start to lose temp, and i can see that the fire is not burning as well, the glass smokes up, ect. granted i am still learning this stove, but how do you get a long burn time, on a well packed stove and get good heat out of it?

Not to familiar with that stove but if you want to stretch out your burns properly seasoned wood is a must. Also you do this once you have a full bed of coals...an established fire.

So with an established bed of coals load the stove up to the max and fully open the primary air. Give the wood 15-20 min to catch good then you throttle down. After a few minutes when the fire settles down observe you have a good secondary burn and you should be good to go.

If your glass gets dirty, like filthy dirty...there wood isn't seasoned enough for an extended burn the way the stove was designed. Give that a try hangnail.

i guess manufacturer's burn times are much different than real burn times.

like in cars or trucks...try to get the same mpg they advertise......

i guess manufacturer's burn times are much different than real burn times.

like in cars or trucks...try to get the same mpg they advertise......

I get exactly what was advertised for my car (27-33mpg), normally on the high side actually.

As far as a burn time goes, I'm guessing the 8 hours is at a low temp with seasoned hardwood. If you are burning green softwood at a high temp, it'll go fast.