How "unsafe" is Oregon 34LG chain, today?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
When I worked in the industry in the '80s, we really only talked about there being 3 kinds of chain.
  • Standard chain, i.e. no ramps or guard links
  • Low-kickback chain, with one or more of the above.
  • Safety chain, e.g 91SG. (aka, anti-cut chain :laugh: )
Therefore, Oregon 34LG was considered to be relatively "low kickback" due to it's ramped depth gauges.

So here's the thing. I've still got brand new 64 drive link loops of 34LG that I've had since 1988. I use them on my Husqvarna saws. One which currently has a standard-profile Oregon replaceable tip bar. The other, a Norwegian-made "Husqvarna" narrow-profile laminated bar.

Now, when I casually mentioned to a supplier that I was going to throw a 15" bar and 34LG chain on my USD50 Chinese made Homelite Zenoah copy, just to see how it ran with it, his reply was,
"Don't you think that's dangerous? You should stick to a low-kickback chain like 21BPX on a saw that doesn't have an inertia brake."
And sure enough, my research tells me that these days, 34LG is not considered to be as safe as it used to be.

Any comments welcome....

Its not safe for inexperienced operators like the majority of new saw users are these days. Anyone that has run saws from the time saws had no chainbrakes could run your saw and chain safely but from the majority of new to saw users today they do not know enough to handle a saw with a chainbrake. Soon saws will need a big computer to run themselves, the operator will just be holding the saw in position.