Husky 272XP chain brake won't reset

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdmsurfguy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a new to me Husky 272XP that I bought from a co-worker. It didn't come with a working chain brake so I bought one off of flea bay. After getting it in the mail and installing it I found out that I can't reset the chain brake once it's been clicked on. Here's a video if my explination doesn't make sense.

I'm not sure what to do, it doesn't look like the saw handlebar is bent. It appear like the actual chain brake mechanism might be assesmbled wrong or it's the wrong one for my model.

This is my first time posting anything here so I apoligize if I'm writing this in the wrong forum or this is dumb question. This is actually the first chainsaw I've ever owned. It cuts great as long as you don't engaged the brake. Thanks

Ron

Welcome to AS Ron!
There were couple of chainbrake variations for you 272xp.
Need to know serial number of your saw which is located above bar oil filler- like this
0206121909 (Mobile).jpg

and part number from inside brake cover (circled - OEM should start off 503 70):

100_0259 (zzz).JPG

I bet I no your problem right away ... Can u remove the chain brake and ingague it and disingauge it ? . the reason why the saw didn't have a chain brake was .. Once u put that full wrap it was to close to the chain brake to disengage it . just like the 660s .

If he's running a full wrap need handle with more forward lead to clear wrap on reset.
Handle oem pn is 503 76 08-02. Baileys used to stock these.

If you got right handle, wrap could be bent or more likely the finger spring is cracked or bent up

edit: also need spacer. they should have them too.

nice choice for first saw. it's older , but a good cutter.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1412653047.020356.jpgImageUploadedByTapatalk1412653062.785807.jpg