Husqvarna 240 Rebuild Project

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caddisguy

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Greetings all! First time poster, but I have been creeping this forum as a technical resource for a few months. I am new to chainsaws and small engines in general. I wanted to share this rebuild project and sneak in a few questions :)

My wifes sisters fiancé gave us a saw. It was in rough shape, basically like "I know you guys are in the bush 100+ days a year... you should have a power saw, here's one might last you a couple years... will get through firewood or get you our of a jam faster than that KB 650 pull saw".

3BEdeLw.jpg

I tried out it, cutting firewood and such. It was a pain to start and had obvious air leaks. You'd get through a cut and it would surge 4000-6000rpm off and on for about a minute before it would calm down. It also wouldn't start when hot, completely vapor locked. I started with the basic stuff. New fuel lines (pick-up line was leaking and return line looked like it was rotting) intake gasket. It cold started a little better, but that's about it.

Tried a cheap after market carb... not much different, then went down the carb turning rabbit hole (with the original carb) reading every article and watching every video I could find. Turned the L / H screws are the way in counted to note where they were initially set. It was something ridiculous like 4 & 1/2 turns. Set them both to 1 & 1/4 and started from there. Every time I thought I had it dialed in, I'd find it was still erratic after some use, or wouldn't cold start (like take your pick)

Reading into it more and watching vids, the main issue here (the surging) sure seems like an air leak. I pulled the muffler and noticed the piston was scoring a fair bit.

0uFvkOP.jpg