I have cut a few big rounds off of a red oak and want to turn them into a nice table

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JT78

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
I have cut a few big rounds off of a red oak and want to turn them into a nice table Im just wondering what color stain is going to really look good or should I just put polyurathane on it? here is a pic of the wood now as it is been drying for about a week.
Halloween08006.jpg

Halloween08011.jpg

What Im wondering is will the poly bring out the red in the center? And thanks about the saw its a 395 and a blast to run.

It's a common hope, but it's very difficult to have endgrain disks like that hold together while drying.

I would expect radial cracking to begin soon. Wood is simply not stable in that direction. That is why most tabletops are side grained "boards."

Thanks B Turner Im very new at this so excuse some of the newby questions but what would happen if I poly it before it gets dry enough to start cracking?

Thanks B Turner Im very new at this so excuse some of the newby questions but what would happen if I poly it before it gets dry enough to start cracking?

There are always variables, like each tree is different and local environment, etc. but typically your odds aren't good to put it mildly. You have the structure of the wood directly opposed to the way the wood has been cut. (Ever notice how few solid round tabletops in oak you see?)

In drying wood, it's a compromise of slowing the drying down enough to reduce cracking vs mold, staining and decay.