IEL Pioneer Find And Need Advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Damocles

Reaction score
Hello to everyone here. I'm new to the site and I am new to a saw that I just picked up. I am reaching out to any of you who can offer me your words of wisdom. Here's my story:

Each Thursday on a random month there is a local guy outside of town that has a sale out of his barn. He cleans out storage units, rentals, you name it, and sells what he hauls in. And quickly for cheap because he gets a lot of stuff. This Thursday I went early and saw my saw.

I didn't know what it was at first. It looked like a fuzzy ball of dirt with a handle attached and looked roughly like a large engine with a tiny chainsaw bar extending from it. I confirmed my suspicion when I found a handle, pulled it, and the chain blade spun loose from the dirt. Indeed, a chainsaw! I also spotted another saw at the same time I was asking what he wanted for the first. He said, "I can’t say it will run. I'm selling it as yard art. People put this stuff in their yard and let it rust as art. You can have it for five bucks and the other one for five". The other is a Homelite 150 Automatic, and frozen solid, so I told him I would pass on that one and take the big ball of dirt. He then told me to take them both and just give him five dollars total.