Italian Cypress Trees in AZ Need Some Help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

asubobbo

Reaction score
Hi! First post here, looking forward to hearing your advice. Admittedly I am a novice, so please be blunt with any advice, I can take it. :)

I have 5 Italian cypress trees, they are roughly 30ft tall and 10 years old. They get significant direct sun in the morning/early afternoon before being shaded by the neighbor's house the rest of the day.

This summer for the first time I have started to get some significant browning on parts of them (mostly towards the bottom of the trees). It has been an extra hot summer here in AZ, but it has also been a pretty active monsoon season so we have had significant rain, on top of my standard watering schedule.

In addition there is one tree which has started to bend over (you can see this in the pictures). I have since staked this one to stabilize but I obviously know I shouldn't have to do that at this point in their lives.

I have examined them for mites and don't see any.

Let me know if you have any suggestions or if I can provide any additional information I am leaving out to help.

Thanks!

- BobIMG_0680.jpg IMG_0677.jpg IMG_0678.jpg IMG_0679.jpg

Hi! First post here, looking forward to hearing your advice. Admittedly I am a novice, so please be blunt with any advice, I can take it. :)

I have 5 Italian cypress trees, they are roughly 30ft tall and 10 years old. They get significant direct sun in the morning/early afternoon before being shaded by the neighbor's house the rest of the day.

This summer for the first time I have started to get some significant browning on parts of them (mostly towards the bottom of the trees). It has been an extra hot summer here in AZ, but it has also been a pretty active monsoon season so we have had significant rain, on top of my standard watering schedule.