Just joined, new saw, question about western juniper

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bambbrose

Reaction score
Just joined AS this week. Been a lurker for years.

From the west but lived in PA, NC, UT throughout my life. Currently in UT. Wish we had those big eastern hardwoods of PA and NC out west here!

I was a wildland firefighter for the USFS during college and picked up an addiction to bigger saws as a sawyer. Doubt I'll get a chance to fell that many trees again but nonetheless we can dream. Engineer by trade so I'm a do it once, do it right kind of guy (tools included).

Just picked up a new 372XPW 24 from Baileys this week. Excellent service from Eddie @ Baileys. Price matched for me and I'll say it was well south of $800 new.
Last night I read the manual, put the saw together, lubed the needle bearing, ready for the first tank this weekend.

Two questions, both unrelated:
1) In the manual it mentions replacing the drive gear every time you replace the chain. I hadn't heard of this. Is it necessary? What components do they expect you to replace? It wasn't all that clear in the manual.

2) Cutting down western juniper fence posts. I've cleared out a lot of this stuff firefighting. I remember it's pretty rough on the chain due to the dust/dirt in the bark. I just purchased a 5 acre lot and we are building a house right now. I've got about 1200' around the lot that I need to corral for horses. Plan to get it done in 300' pastured sections. Plan is to use cedar/juniper posts from public lands. Over time I will knock down about 150 10" diameter, 8' tall junipers and to square them up on a sawmill, profile below. This is for making a slip rail fence. Any pointers, clues, or warnings before I head out on this multi-year journey? Finding straight 10" junipers is probably the hardest part.