Labor rates

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dneiger

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have been working on chainsaws since 1972 and I have seen a lot of them come and go, seen shop labor rates climb in the last few years, but I am giving notice to the chainsaw users in my area if you bring a S saw in that ends with the model 39 my shop rate has automaticly gone up to $250.00 per hour. I thought up cuss words that haven't been invented yet, just to change piston.

Cmon guys, it ain't that bad. Takes about 10 minutes to pull one down completely.

But my question is, why are you fixing them. I have actually repaired one internally under warranty. It is a throwaway saw. It WAS NOT intended to be overhauled. NO consumer type saw is or was. The guy bought it reasonable, and if HE kept good fuel and maintained things the way he should, would get a long life. Most of my original 029 customers still have them. We were told that in the beginning. I will bet money the other makers said the same thing.
If you want a saw to overhaul down the road, buy a pro model. That is what it is intended for.

they are a easy tear down after you have done one, hell every screw is the same almost.

Ive got a new 310 that spit out a wristpin keeper in the shop now. warranty deal..

Rates

Nobody said we wanted to pull the crank, we wanted to work on the piston I guess we should have pulled it out of the spark plug hole, would have been just as easy. As for throw away saws I haven't heard any of the major companies use that term ever, all of them claim their latest models and designs are the best ever, easiest to work on, and the greatest thing since canned beer.

So Dneiger,

If you hate the 1127 series what about the 019/190 (1132). I know of one former Stihl dealer who refused to work on them. Note I said former. He also would b''ch about the Stihl trimmers.

Bill

rates