Looking For Impulse Pressure For A Stih 026....Cool! The forum is in Dutch today.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buddie

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Perhaps I am not using the correct search terms but I cannot find the proper pressure value for the impulse system on my 026. My MityVac says I've got about 6 (+ -) lbs pressure when I crank the saw while drawing off of the impulse tube, can anyone please offer me some acceptable pressure readings? Thank you!!

Thanks for your response mtngun. As you can probably tell, I am a rank novice at this sort of thing but trying my best to determine why my saw won't start normally. Runs great after I prime the carb and it seems as if the carb is not getting fuel at cold start-up so I'm trying to figure out why. Here is what I have done so far:

Rebuilt the carb to spec's
New Stihl air filter
New Stihl fuel line
New Stihl tank vent
New Stihl master control switch
New spark plug (gapped)
Crankcase pressure 158 lbs
Impulse rubber line holds good pressure

I can get prime and start saw if I slightly pressurize the impulse nipple located on the carb, but that's my best shot so far. That seems to energize the carb with fuel. Also, I have had luck getting this saw to kick if I hold my finger over the carb throat while pulling magnito- I feel lots of suction on my thumb before it kicks. That's why I think it may be an impulse issue but I have yet to test for an air leak. I will try to do that tomorrow. I am thankful for all help offered.

I doubt if an air leak would cause hard starting but it never hurts to leak test if you are set up to do it.