Lowe's vs. Home Depot for chainsaw chaps?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brages

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Hi folks... I'm thinking about getting some chainsaw chaps. I feel like I'd be a bit of a poseur, because I'm a newbie, but then I'm probably more likely to do something stupid and hurt myself.

I'm going to be getting a $50 gift card... I can get it to Lowe's or Home Depot... one of these places sells chainsaw chaps, I think it's Lowe's... am I right?

Brages,

Labonville, Inc. is a site sponsor and they have awesome chaps. They also offer gift cards.

Good luck,

Joat

The gift card is an award from something at my job - my choice from a number of places, but I can't get it for Labonville.

Just make sure they are UL listed

Many places are selling chaps that have not been tested. If you buy a pair of chaps, be sure they have the UL certification, otherwise you may get a false sense of security.

good idea. Maybe check their websites. Don't recall seeing them at my Lowes but they had Husky helmets with screens.

I don't recall ever seeing chaps at Home Crapo or Lowes. You're wise to invest in a pair but I'd buy good ones from a site sponsor and use the GC for something else (ie bar oil??).

Don't buy Stihl chaps either. The straps are not sewn securely to the caps. Walk thru some brush and they snap and pull right off.

My local HD sells mainly Homelite and Echo, and I didn't see any chaps. Lowe's should be able to order Husky chaps if they don't stock them.
Besides, a Lowe's GC will have a bit more resale value on ebay than HD if you can't use it yourself.

For sure...

Many places are selling chaps that have not been tested. If you buy a pair of chaps, be sure they have the UL certification, otherwise you may get a false sense of security.